Developer Happiness

Developer Happiness

I was shown a great article about the things that make developers happy. Take a look and let me know what you think. Believe it or not, it was written in December of 2020! I have to say my happiest part of 2020 was working from home!

The author of the article (Emma Tracy) asked 4000 programmers from 98 countries to rate their happiness across four areas: career, quality of life, social freedom, and community. Happier developers are more productive, so finding these answers are of great importance!

Work-Life Balance is the most important among those they asked. The happiest developers were in northern Europe. Overall, tNorth America was third. I think a good part of this is due to the amount of people who (over-)work 40-60 hours a week. In Northern Europe, the number is 12%, while in the US it is 31%.

It's a good article, lots of information to digest and add into your life plan. Let me know what you think.

Read it here...